We recommend

  • At Libreria we curate our books to maximise serendipity — what will you discover today?

  • As part of our Language Labs initiative, we partnered up with @citizens.uk to run a litter #PickItUp with local primary school, Christ Church and our #languagelabs students. Now, we want to extend our litter campaign and get billboards made using pictures the children have drawn. Support by pledging, further details in the bio.

  • “We are beginning to act like machines – constantly repeating.” Thank you Marcus du Sautoy for a insightful evening on creativity and AI at the launch of ‘The Creativity Code’ last week 🤖.

  • Pocket reads at the counter, open till 8pm every Saturday.

  • Ever changing shelves, guest curations and displays. Discover new reads today, open till 8pm.

  • #TBT to our to our Sex tech Valentine’s day party with @Soda.Says @pinkprotest – check out @disgracecampbell ‘s book curation, link in bio.

  • Loving these beautifully illustrated cards from @cassiaozdemir – find them at the counter.

  • We caught up with @galdemzine at the launch party of the latest @SECONDHOME_IO London Fields. Find out what they’re reading and what they had to say on inclusion, link in bio.

  • Max Porter’s follow up to ‘Grief Is the Thing With Feathers’ – Lanny is now in store. Check out the @guardian review in our story.

  • Sunday essentials. We’re open till 6pm. Read more from Diane Atkinson — link in the bio.

  • We’ve got signed copies of the brilliant @marlonjameswriter Black Leopard, Red Wolf, the first in The Dark Star Trilogy. James had to dig deep into relatively unknown African mythology, to find magical and fantastical tales to draw from, for this epic fantasy.

  • “I don’t subscribe to patriarchy, and I don’t think it should be substituted with matriarchy. I think it’s a question of equitable access, and opening doors to all sort of things.” Toni Morrison
    #libreriaoninternationalwomensday #internationalwomensday #iwd

  • “They said, “you are a savage and dangerous woman.” I am speaking the truth. And the truth is savage and dangerous.” Nawal El Saadawi
    #libreriaoninternationalwomensday #internationalwomensday #iwd

  • Feel Free, Zadie Smith

    A new collection of essays by one of the most beloved authors of this generation. Feel Free offers a survey of important recent events in culture and politics, as well as Smith’s own life.

  • “Between propriety and joy, choose joy.” Zadie Smith, Feel Free

  • Vox, Christina Dalcher

    A dystopian thriller about a totalitarian regime constraining women’s rights to free speech. One for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale and The Power.

  • “We’re on a slippery slide to prehistory, girls. Think about it. Think about where you’ll be—where your daughters will be—when the courts turn back the clock.” Christina Dalcher, Vox

  • The Chronology of Water, Lidia Yuknavitch

    Written as a dare between Chuck Palahniuk and Lidia, this recollection about surviving abuse, addiction, her still-born child, being misfit and finding salvation in self-expression and swimming, has built a cult following since its publication in 2011. This memoir is finally published in the UK.

  • “If I could go back, I’d coach myself. I’d be the woman who taught me how to stand up, how to want things, how to ask for them. I’d be the woman who says, your mind, your imagination, they are everything. Look how beautiful. You deserve to sit at the table. The radiance falls on all of us.” Lidia Yuknavitch, The Chronology of Water

  • On Mondays we close our bookshop for Libreria Language Labs. This initiative supports the local Tower Hamlets migrant community to develop and improve their literacy.

    Today we’re working on our #PickItUp Litter Campaign. Find out more about #LangLabs in the link in our bio.

  • Good Reasons for Bad Feelings by Randolph M. Nesse — One our recommendations in our newsletter last week. Have our genes mentally equipped us for the complex social worlds we have constructed? This is an essential read to understand mental well being.

  • Weekend plans? Explore our bookshop and discover something new. We’re open till 8pm. 📷@rebeccahope

  • Libreria opens up to a panel of football’s finest. Top sports lawyer Daniel Geey joins us for a conversation alongside Gabriele Marcotti, Raf Honigstein and former professional footballer Tony Evans. Sign up link in the bio.

  • Sunshine shelves in the shop today ☀️

  • The Making of You by Katharina Vestre. It’s a great mystery — where did you come from? From your first cell to your first breath, this is the amazing story of how you became you.

  • Discover new books and ideas by having the Libreria experience delivered straight to your door. Sign up for our monthly book subscription and choose from — hot picks, fiction, non-fiction and kids. Link in bio.

  • Libreria totes, the perfect size for books, laptops and everything else your travels require. Find us just off #BrickLane, on Hanbury St. We’re open till 6pm.

  • The brilliant Reni Eddo-Lodge guest curation is on our shelves. Featuring books by Naomi Wolf, David Chariandy and Kei Miller. Find out more in store. Open till 8pm today.

  • Some incredible new titles in this week, including Mouth Full of Blood by Toni Morrison, Voices in the Evening by Natalia Ginzburg and William Henry Searle’s, Threads.

  • Marcus du Sautoy comes to @secondhome_io to launch his new book ‘The Creativity Code’ — sign up link in the bio.

  • Adèle by Leïla Slimani is now in store. “The follow-up to Lullaby centres on a modern-day Emma Bovary whose frustrated desires threaten to destroy her family.” Read the full @guardian review in the stories.

  • Carefully selected monthly reads, hand wrapped and delivered to your door. Sound dreamy? Check out our book subscription. Sign up link in bio.

  • Adventures in the Anthropocene author, Gaia Vince comes to @secondhome_io today, as part of the @patternity ‘Patterns of Life’ workshop. Bookshop open till 6pm.

  • New to store (a touch early) ‘It’s Not About The Burqa’ — a collection of essays by Muslim women, edited by Mariam Khan. We’re loving the dust jacket on this.

  • We’re open till 8pm. Ideal for a post work bookshop amble. Pick up your perfect read for the weekend.

  • Our sex tech window display is ready for our #valentinesday party with @pinkprotest and @soda.says tonight, @womb2london DJs in the mix.

  • Valentine’s Day cards in the shop 💘

  • Figuring by Maria Popova is new in store. An exploration of love, truth, the meaning of life and the complexities that surround them all. #brainpicker

  • Niki Segnit, author of The Flavour Thesaurus and Lateral Cooking is hosting a supper club @secondhome_io join us for an unmissable dinner. Read more and book tickets via the link in our bio.

  • This week #FeverDreams and #MouthfulofBirds author Samanta Schweblin joined Daniel Hahn to talk about her book and the power of words. Read one of the short stories ‘Heads Against Concrete’ by clicking the link in the bio.

  • Author Josh Cohen joins @granta_magazine guest editor Devorah Baum and psychoanalyst Anouchka Grose to discuss the most unruly of subjects: the politics of feeling. More info by following the link in the bio.

  • This month’s Libreria subscription was a collection. Three small books with big ideas.
    Treat yourself to hand wrapped, monthly reads, posted directly through the letterbox. Sign up link in the bio.

  • Ever changing shelves, guest curations and displays. Discover new reads today, open till 8pm.

  • Tonight, author Samanta Schweblin joins Daniel Hahn in conversation, as they go deep on narrative psychology, the magical and the real, and the return of the short story. Read one of the stories ahead of the official paperback release tomorrow, link in our story.

  • Ahead of our V-Day party, @disgracecampbell from @pinkprotest has curated a guest shelf. Check out her selection of books on female sexuality, desires and pleasure – link in bio.

  • This Thursday, acclaimed physicist Paul Davies comes to @secondhome_io to discuss his latest book, The Demon in the Machine. Read an extract and sign up, both via link in bio.

  • Today at 12pm, join us and our Language Lab students as we tackle rubbish and pollution in Tower Hamlets, for our #PickItUp campaign. Meet at reception @secondhome_io ♻️

  • Lazy Sunday? We’ve got you covered. Open till 6pm, just off #BrickLane

  • Chasing the Sun by Linda Geddes. “The latest thinking on how natural light is vital to health, our daily rhythm and getting a good night’s sleep.” Full review in our story.

  • About last night… @katharinehamnett and Rushanara Ali MP joined us for a passionate discussion on Brexit. Read the highlights (link in bio). We’ve also got some of Katharine’s t-shirts in the shop. First come, first served.

  • ‪In the shop today, ‘The Orchid and the Dandelion’ by W. Thomas Boyce “To know that one fifth of people do not have a choice about how they physically react to stress should make us more unsterdanding of the differences between us all.” ‬ ‪Read the full @GuardianBooks review, link in our story.

  • Thank you to @squareeyescomic and @keiichi.matsuda for a fascinating discussion at our event last night. Find copies of this beautiful graphic novel in store.

  • From us to you, monthly reads, beautifully hand wrapped and posted through the door. Choose between ‘Hot Picks’ or ‘The Guest Curation’. Link in bio for more info www.libreria.io/subscriptions

  • It’s the last few days of our January sale and we’ve got some fantastic deals on art books. Check out the full selection in store.

  • On Mondays we close our bookshop for Libreria Language Labs. This initiative supports the local Tower Hamlets migrant community to develop and improve their literacy.

    Today we planned the logistics for our #PickItUp Litter Campaign. Join our students to tackle rubbish and pollution, making our public spaces cleaner for everyone. Next week, Mon 4th Feb 12-2pm. Link in bio.

  • Blankets, candles and endless mugs of hot drinks. Cosy season is fully upon us. Immerse yourself in a new read today.

  • Our children’s corner is full of inspiring stories to delight and ignite creativity and imagination. Explore our selection in store this weekend. Open till 8pm today.

  • Magical drinking den and unique event space, our bookshop transforms at night. For private hire pricing and availability, email hello@libreria.io

  • The Golden Ass. Sarah Ruden’s translation of this classic story is a modern, entertaining and faithful take. It features as part of Emily Wilson’s guest curation. Check out her full selection in store.

  • Ahead of our event with @squareeyescomic next week, we spoke to future-facing filmmaker and designer @keiichi.matsuda on defining future technology. Read the full piece, link in bio.

Loading...